416.598.2475
194 Queen West, Toronto

REVIEWS

07/31/2018

Really cool atmosphere! Jazz and Blues and Beat Generation, seemed to see Kerouac at the table to write down notes, you're in Toronto in a Frisco atmosphere, simple, natural and absolutely not redone but "original". Location downtown that most downtown can not, go anywhere on foot. Beautiful additional experience to everything else. In fact, from the first night all my friends in other hotels of mundane multinational chains came to dinner to hear good jazz!The presentation: we should better understand the environment and the added value, in France they call them "Hotel de charme".

-Marina (Italy) Booking.com


01/24/2018

"Perfect location if you wanna spend a weekend in Toronto"

Pros: Location, cleanliness and Necessities plus outstanding entertainment staring at 4pm on fridays and noon on saturday. this place is friendly and close

Location: many food choices and bars along with local sites. perfect location for a weekend getaway in Toronto. Queen street has alot of shops and is very safe

Great location for a weekend in Toronto complete with world class entertainment. Staff was great and room was perfect for travellers like me that need a place to sleep and shower. room was small but completely adequate to plop your stuff and get out and see the city. Make sure you check out the club. World class musicians and afficianados pack the place all weekend long. This being said my room was on the third level and I was not bothered once by the sound. Highly recommend for a single traveller or couple

- David (Expedia)


01/12/2018

"A gem of a budget boutique hotel"

This great little hotel was perfect for my recent two night stay in Toronto. As a solo, senior, female traveller I was looking for a safe, comfortable, inexpensive room in a good location for public transit and walking. I ended up choosing The Rex because of its good reviews and wasn't disappointed. The young staff was welcoming and helpful, my room, immaculately clean with a private bathroom with a modern shower, was a good size and the bar/restaurant on the main floor was a real bonus. Food was available all day, including toast and coffee free for hotel guests in the morning. The Rex is a jazz and blues destination in Toronto and I enjoyed a very good and reasonably priced dinner with music during my stay. The servers were also very friendly and professional. There was no problem with noise from the bar in my room. There's a convenience store across the street and a bank just down from it. The Osgoode subway station is a block away. It was an easy walk to the Ontario Gallery of Art through an interesting neighourhood. Queen Street W is a mixed neighbourhood. There's an upscale restaurant (Nota Bene) in a tower beside The Rex and a quirky row of shops across the street. I felt comfortable walking around day and night. If you're young or young at heart this makes a great base for a stay in Toronto.

-Shelley (Expedia)


12/19/2017

"Great stay, Unique place in Toronto, very nice and friendly staff"

My stay 4 nights in The Rex Hotel was great. For me this hotel is a unique cultural place in Toronto and something really special, because they organize jazz live concerts and you can see and listen a good music for the hotel guests a low price. Interior is very nicely designed, my room was very clean and very comfortable, very good and clean bathroom. Wifi connection is free and fast. Free breakfast toasts jam and coffee tea or paid breakfast. Located in the heart of Toronto, you can walk to everywhere without public transport, AGO just a few minutes a walk, everything is close, CN Tower, Union Station, AGO.... bars, shops, restaurants, the Subway station Osgoode 2 minutes a walk. On the Queen St. West with the beautiful historical and modern architecture. Good sleeping, without noise, very good bed, great restaurant, very uniquely designed in jazz atmosphere. Very friendly, nice, optimistic and helpful staff with smile, friendly familiar ambiance, I felt that I'm very welcomed, everyone of the staff was very friendly and helpful and they made my stay so great.

- Michal (Booking.com)

12/12/2017

Is lovely place to live in Toronto if India or Pakistani or Nepali or Bangladesh The Rex Hotel Jazz one of the guy speaking Hindi and Urdu language And the staff are extremely kind, helpful and lovely. The food is amazing and the music is incredible. Ahome away from home...or even better. Mr. Bob, the owner is a very nice man and has made this experience one of a kind. I love all of the staff that I met, Michaela, Matt, Rob, Skye, Shannan, Robbie, Adela, Sara, June, Everett, and Tom. Any time that I am back in Toronto, I will stay here.

- Nilu (Facebook)


11/19/2015

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Rex for 6 days and 5 nights. We got there around 7pm, reception was at the bar as the reception had closed for the day. We got a really warm welcome from the guy at the bar and got a really good vibe from the jazz bar and the jazz music that was playing. The room was completely sound proof from the bar down stairs. The room was small but clean and cosy! The staff here are incredible! The first morning we had breakfast in the restaurant/bar downstairs and the owner (i think his name was bob) of the place was so kind and welcoming! He gave us a map and a heap of recommendations. I also asked where I could get a plug convertor for our phones, my blow dryer and hair straighter. And he told us not to worry he can provide them and 10 mins later he brings me a blow Dryer, hair straightener and a plug convertor for my phone, all free of charge!!!

I would 100% stay here again!!! The food is delicious, staff is amazing and location is incredible!!! 15-20min walk to the CN Tower and hockey center. And a 7min walk to the Toronto Eaton Shopping Center. Also 1 min walk from Osegoode subway station.

-Maggie S. (Trip Advisor)


15/07/2012


When my Taxi dropped me off I could not find the Hotel Rex; however there was an entrance for the "bar/Jazz club" called the Rex. My first inclination was to run........ However I did muster my courage and perhaps motivated by my curiosity entered the bar and inquired "Where is the Hotel Rex?". A very friendly older gentlemen named Bob, said "it's here, you are in it!". Well, we walked to the end of the bar and he picked through a number of handwritten registration cards and well the rest is history. Lots of history since the Bar/Hotel was founded by Bob's father in 1952 and past to Bob and now to Bob's son Avi. During the course of the years the Bar/Hotel introduced Jazz somewhere around the 1960's as I recall.


I am a very frequent business traveler and often stay in the stereotypical large chain hotels. You know what I mean they all look the same and have the same amenities etc.; however lack "character"... The Rex surely gets 5 stars for that.


Bob barked out at a passing employee (no uniforms here, just jeans and tee shirts) "hey, this stuff up to room # 224 if it's clean." He yelled to a young girl "hey, is 224 made up yet?" We I went with the fellow that carried my bags up two flights (no elevators to wait for or get stuck in) and upon entering the room was pleasantly surprised at it being newly appointed with nice modern stainless bathroom fixtures, glass cage shower etc. I reached into my pocket to extend a "Gratuity" and the chap said "no thank you, it's my pleasure; we are a family business here"; Wow very impressive; I actually almost felt like family as well.


I chatted with Bob often during my one night stay to here more of the Rex's history; was exceptionally friendly and helpful and never missed an opportunity to offer me a drink; very generous of him for sure. I was introduced to his son, Avi, who now runs the third generation operation.


That evening (Monday) there was a great Jazz ensemble that played, and after the entertainment I could just walk up my two flights and was comfy in my bed; very convenient for sure.


The location on Queen Street is convenient to everywhere that is relevant in Toronto, and most could would be a short walk.


I would definitely recommend this jewel to those that wish to stay somewhere unique and not be swayed by "collecting loyalty points" since the price here is right; in summary a very enjoyable experience, and I would return.


Walter H.


30/03/2012

Hello there,


I just wanted to thank you again for a marvellous stay at the Rex. Your hotel was quite possibly the best place I've ever stayed at. Very nice simple design in the room, really convenient location, very friendly and helpful staff, and the place has so much character, I had a wonderful time! Even the food is delicious, and really affordable (fantastic lasagna!) I'm not even a jazz fanatic, but I have to admit I enjoyed every single night at the bar downstairs, too. I can't even think of a negative thing to say! Keep up the good work and thank you again,


Best,

Arnaud



24/01/2011

I just wanted to thank you for a wonderful stay. We took advantage of the "jazz weekend" and the entire package was fantastic.


We are jazz fans from Peterborough and I always look to "The Rex" to present great jazz. I was certainly not disappointed. I chose this evening as I used to listen to the Jive Bombers years ago when they backed up a singer named Shox Johnson. I had suspected Alex Dean would be the tenor man. Although I do enjoy Alex, my favourite sax player in the city is Mike Murley. I was extremely pleased to see him sitting in. Kirk MacDonald was his usual amazing self, constantly challenging me to figure the interesting lines (I'm a sax player as well) he comes up with and the other members of his trio were fine compliments. What a great night of music.


The meals were fantastic, the staff was so nice and the room was great. Although it is small, it was clean and comfortable and quiet.


Thanks again for a great stay and a great deal. I have always felt it was so good of the people at "The Rex" to be such fine jazz promoters. Now, having taken advantage of the opportunity to stay there I can say I am nothing but impressed.


Thanks!

William